Last updateThu, 27 Apr 2017 10am

Back You are here: Home News News Legal Reform 18 States Now Outlaw Death Penalty

18 States Now Outlaw Death Penalty

Maryland will become the 18th state to outlaw the death penalty. After the  House voted 82-56, Governor O’Malley told reporters that the ban validates a “core belief that we share in the dignity of every human being.” He also stated through Twitter that “Overwhelming evidence tells us that the death penalty does not work. Especially in tough times, if a public policy is expensive and does not work, then we should stop doing it.”

Click here to read the article.